What is Digital Painting?

Published October 29, 2015 by Sandi Staton

Welcome to my new blog, the magical world of digital painting!

Digital painting is a method of creating an art object (painting) digitally and/or a technique for making digital art in the computer. As a method of creating an art object, it adapts traditional painting medium such as acrylic paint, oils, ink, watercolor, etc. and applies the pigment to traditional carriers, such as woven canvas cloth, paper, polyester etc. by means of computer software driving industrial robotic or office machinery (printers). As a technique, it refers to a computer graphics software program that uses a virtual canvas and virtual painting box of brushes, colors and other supplies. The virtual box contains many instruments that do not exist outside the computer, and which give a digital artwork a different look and feel from an artwork that is made the traditional way.

Long before I became a digital artist, I painted on wood, paper, cloth, furniture; anything that didn’t breathe. But ten years and hundreds of dollars and supplies later, I decided to donate all my art stuff and buy a computer. At first, I used it for writing. Then I wandered into the magical world of digital art and have lived there ever since.

As with Tole Painting, I am self-taught and enjoy learning new techniques. Most of all, I enjoy creating, painting, and giving my designs away.

Tools that I use to create my digital images:

Corel PaintShop Pro X7 Ultimate

Coloring pages: There are hundreds to choose from on the internet

Tole Painting Books: I saved my books and scanned my favorite pages into my computer for later use

I hope you enjoy my blog. Happy creating!

Sandi

Leave a Reply

